HALF MARATHON !!!

Hey everybody!

Image

Wuuuuhuuuu! I am officially the HAPPIEST girl in the world! Can you guess why??? Yes, I did it! I ran my very first half marathon, my first 21.097 km! After 4 months of training – we have been running in snow, minus degrees, rain, wind, after long school/work days and sometimes very late at night. Oh man! It was the biggest succes when I crossed that finish line, I almost cried of relief.

The day started at 7.30pm with a big bowl of oatmeal and a LOT of water. I knew it was gonna be a warm day so I made sure to drink enough! At 9am I got on the train with my friend. We sure weren’t the only runners in that train! It was filled with hopeful and enthusiastic runners, who were just as exited as I was. An hour later we reached the start area, which was filled with people. My friend and I found a spot to sit down, shared a banana and drank some energy drink. The sun was shining from a clear sky and everything was perfect. I wore my favorite clothes, my ankle was bound tightly (see why in earlier posts) and my running shoes were tied.
At 11 o’clock we were all ready to go! I remember standing there between the 7500 other runners. The music was playing in my ears, my hands were shaking of excitement and I felt AMAZING!
I ran the first two kilometers a bit quicker than expected, but I had to get out of a huge group of people. After that I slowed down and found a perfect pace, which I kept almost the entire run. I must say though.. I ran into a physical barrier at the 15 km sign. Uhh it was hard! The sweat was dripping from my fore head because of the heat and my legs felt tired. Luckily it only lasted about 3-4 kilometers – I just ran right through it! Instead of focusing on the negatives I tried to imagine how it would feel to cross the finish line. THAT really helped!
1 hour and 53 minutes and it was over. I had crossed the line and it felt SO MUCH BETTER than I had ever imagined. It was unbelievable! My dream (which I had worked so hard for) had come true. Yeah, I guess it is a feeling I cant describe.

Today I’m am very very sore.. everything hurts – my quards, my back, my hips, even my shoulders and arms! Haha! Better sore than sorry right? 😀

If anyone is interested in my time and pace:

Image

Image

4 comments

    1. Tusinde tak! 😀 Jeg har desværre både fået problemer med hoften og knæet efter løbet, så der går nok lidt tid, før jeg får lov til at opleve det igen.. men det med skader ved du jo alt om.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

